Dare to be different, dare to be you!

Against all conventional advice, I made a conscious choice to use the free version of WordPress as my workaboard/liveaboard blogging platform (wordpress.com). One of our main intentions of adopting this alternative work and living style is to challenge convention, cut our overheads to the minimum and have a deeply fulfilling and adventurous life. Working afloat with WordPress.com fits well with that.

I will be totally honest though and admit that we also have a paid for WordPress site for our land-based business. I’ll also admit that I don’t promote any of my Business Consulting or Coaching services on our site and it’s mostly dedicated to Kevin’s Past Life Regression and therapy work. I haven’t got round to updating it and I have a huge resistance to doing so – it just feels so so old fashioned and samey to have a conventional website (to be fair I have been working in the web space since the early 90’s). I’m not quite ready to discuss it yet, but we’re not going to build a conventional website for our online business, we’re going to do something different.

I’ll let you into a secret. When you do something different from the masses, people accept and expect that you’ll do your thing differently. Why do people love Apple so much? Why did Google become the top search engine and how did Amazon revolutionise the publishing industry? I can assure you that it was not because they did the same old, same old as their competitors.

richard branson
Richard Branson

My advice to budding entrepreneurs is don’t TRY to be Richard Branson or Buckminster Fuller – start BEING you. Listen to the current experts, learn from their experience and then build on their knowledge. Free your mind and break through conventional wisdom to the land of new ideas. Dare to be different, dare to step out of the box and be your own true authentic self. It is actually so much easier than trying to learn to be someone else. Believe me, I’ve tried.

Be different – be you!

One thought on “Dare to be different, dare to be you!

  1. I always find the defiance of convention so refreshing. It was indeed the reason I first loved Apple and bought their computers. In fact I stopped doing that when they started using the same chips as everyone else and trying to charge me for an operating system based on one millions of us were already using fro free. When they conformed and started using the same tricks as everyone else, they lost me. A uniform is designed to prevent people from standing out, to create a homogeneous mass. It somehow doesn’t seem a good idea to put one on in the form of conformist behavior if your aim is to do just that. To stand out, to be heard, to engage people in your discussion or business. I find it comforting that conformity is a hindrance to success rather than a necessity. for with the best will in the world, I’m lousy at it. I am so happy that you don’t find it appealing either 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

