Work Afloat – Networking

My workspace
Working aboard

Over the years, I’ve been self-employed on and off. Having a background in digital media, I’m quite used to remote working and using the Internet to stay in touch with clients. I also find it quite easy to switch between a work and home headspace and don’t have a problem with the discipline of working aboard. Before we are able to set sail I need to build an online business that will work wherever we are based and while doing that, we still need to eat. The first priority when we moved to our new location was to build a new network for our businesses.

I hate formal networking meetings (usually at some ungodly hour of the morning) where everyone turns up in suits and spends a couple of hours selling to one another. You have to make a commitment to attend every week and bring along referrals for others in the group.  I feel like I have to be on my best behaviour and am being judged not only for my business content but the clothes I wear. For me, it brings back memories of male-dominated boardrooms and endless pointless meetings and I find it really hard to be authentic in this kind of environment. These type of meetings still exist and while they do work very well for some people, they don’t for me. You can check out the various networking events in your area at Find Networking Events

I was really surprised to find some very active Facebook networking groups in my area (search for area name + business) – and they weren’t just selling to one another. In fact, the three groups that I now actively take part in have completely separate promotion groups. These are women only groups and are supportive, friendly and very business focused. Two are local and one is international with a local branch. I have been to a couple of face-to-face meetings and intend to attend on a regular basis to help build my business. I have received bookings through these groups and am building up some fabulous relationships both on and offline.

We also signed up for European funded training that was supplied by the local Chamber of Commerce for small businesses (I will write more about accessing business funding in a future post). Through this programme, we not only learned new skills, but also spend full days with other local small businesses. On the first training day, Kevin walked out with a booking and by the end of three workshops he has developed a very targeted list of those interested in his services. It’s interesting as his business is B2C and he wasn’t expecting this.

Business Women's Network
Business Women’s Network both this an top pictures by Jayne Lloyd Photography

Networking is very important, but it is not a quick fix. Finding the right network that resonates with you and your business is just as important. I have made many new friends and potential clients who I can build up a trusted relationship with over time – both on and offline. I reckon we have at least a year before we are ready to set sail so investing time in building these relationships will be invaluable for us in the long run.

I’d really love to hear from you so please leave a comment and let me know your thoughts on networking. Have a great day x

3 thoughts on “Work Afloat – Networking

  1. So true, I find as a male that some networking groups are so predictable and formalised. There’s a lack of real heart and so like a balance between the genders. May favourite are Ladies that Lunch and Men too and the 4N way

    Like

  2. I have very mixed feeling about offline networking, although I do go along to a couple locally that are less formal and less selly. I find these to be the most beneficial and authentic. I agree that online networking works very well and it’s where I prefer to focus.

    Like

  3. You’ve certainly put yourself out there and found out what works for you. I think this has to be the best way (maybe not too many networking events for me though!) and I’m impressed with your discipline xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

