yellow buoys

Work Afloat – Co-Working Jelly Style

You are not alone

I love being self employed most of the time but sometimes it gets a bit lonely. Sometimes I am a bit blocked and need help to sharpen my ideas. Sometimes I crave impartial input on a crazy concept I’ve been mulling over. Sometimes I just miss working with a team. And it seems like I’m not the only one.

Co-Working Definition

Co-working is a buzz word in the small business world but what is it? Wikipedia describes it as – a style of work that involves a shared working environment, often an office, and independent activity. Unlike in a typical office environment, those co-working are usually not employed by the same organisation. Typically it is attractive to work-at-home professionals, independent contractors, or people who travel frequently who end up working in relative isolation.  Coworking is also the social gathering of a group of people who are still working independently, but who share values,  and who are interested in the synergy that can happen from working with people who value working in the same place alongside each other.

Co-working southend
Jelly Co-Working Southend

Jelly Working Experience

Last week I was invited to my first co-working day at a local hotel. This monthly event, organised by local business woman Katherine Pond, uses the Jelly UK co-working model.

I asked Katherine to tell me more about it before attending: “Jelly Southend-on-Sea is a small informal group. I started the group in February because I felt isolated working at home on my own. The idea is you bring work with you, that you can do alongside other like minded individuals. You can join in discussions or work quietly on your own, whatever suits you. There is free WIFI available, parking is free if you buy a coffee in the Starbucks cafe on the ground floor, which is where we meet.”

I went along from 10 am to 2 pm (you can stay as long as you wish) and really enjoyed the day. I actually got work done and received great input into some of my ideas and projects. I also gave the same back to my group. It was good to be part of a team again. I am really looking forward to spending the next Jelly day with my new co-workers at the Airport Holiday Inn. It’s on the last Wednesday of the month so please join us if you are in the area.

uk-jelly-logo-300x141Start your own Jelly

I am so pleased that when we do eventually get sailing and become true digital nomads, we’ll be able to tap into this resource wherever we go. Until then I fully intend to get immersed in the Jelly groups in my area. To find an existing or start up a new Jelly co-working space near you in Europe (or anywhere in the world) use the Jelly Wiki as your first stop or search on Google (Jelly coworking + area). For those in the UK use the UK Jelly website as it’s a bit more user friendly.

You can follow the liveaboard blog by pushing the “follow blog” button below and you’ll get notifications of updates. I’d really love to hear from you too so please leave a comment and let me know your thoughts. If you have any similar stories, please, please share with us. Have a great day x

2 thoughts on “Work Afloat – Co-Working Jelly Style

Leave a Reply

