What is a Digital Nomad?

your time is limited so don't waste it living someone else's lifeI have spent approximately half my adult life in the UK and half in South Africa. It was my dream, when I left Cape Town with my three girls, to spread our year over both hemispheres and live in a never ending summer.I had been in online media since the birth of the commercial Internet in 1993 and so this was achievable.

When I first arrived back in the UK in the heady days of the dot com boom, I had business interests here as well as South Africa and Australia and while I have worked on projects with teams located all over the world, this is my first step into becoming a Digital Nomad, or in our case a Digital Pirate, who wanders while working.

Since starting my research on the subject, I quickly found that the term “Digital Nomad” is already seen as a bit passé by those who have been doing it for years. For people like us, just starting out, it’s still pretty new and I thought it best to begin with a definition (or two) from early adopters.

So what is Digital Nomadism?

“You must have heard of digital nomadism. People who use mobile
computing and the Internet to work from wherever they choose to. They
quit the matrix of corporate jobs and lure you to follow in their footsteps
posting fabulous stories on their blogs.”  www.travel.share

Wikipedia’s description –  Digital nomads are individuals who leverage telecommunications technologies to perform their work duties, and more generally conduct their lifestyle in a nomadic manner. Such workers typically work remotely—from home, coffee shops, public libraries and even from recreational vehicles to accomplish tasks and goals that used to traditionally take place in a single stationary workplace.

“Our definition of “Making It Anywhere”? Running a business we love from wherever we want to be, and making more money than we were in our old jobs. In the last couple of years we’ve lived in 16 cities across three continents. We’ve had the time of our lives, and felt amazingly free from all the stuff that used to bug us about having a job and living permanently in one place.” from Mich and Rob’s very informative website – Making It Anywhere

Remote jobs

As for the type of work Digital Nomad’s do, it’s quickly moved on from tech only related work to the type of work you do at your desk wherever you are currently based. Here is a good list of Digital Nomad job descriptions from Digital Nomad Jobs

Online Shop owner, Virtual Receptionist, Digital Nomads: Help Exchange, Digital Product Creation, English as a Foreign Language Teacher, Affiliate Marketer, Web Developer, Virtual Assistant, Translator, Web Designer, eBook Author, Online Tutor, Blogger, Data Entry Clerk, Stock Photographer, Portrait Artist, Travel Writer, Graphic Designer

I am currently researching and registering with some freelance and remote working sites and I’ll be discussing the process, advice and the sites the I have found in a later post.

Untitled designSo to sum up, a Digital Nomad is someone who travels and works at the same time, they have financial stability while being geographically independent. That really does appeal to me, how about you?

You can follow the Digital Pirate’s blog by pushing the “follow blog” button below and you’ll get notifications of updates. I’d really love to hear from you too so please leave a comment and let me know your thoughts. If you like what you read, please share and help me get my blog to a wider audience using the social media buttons. Have a great day x

3 thoughts on “What is a Digital Nomad?

  1. This is a dream of mine. I would love to read more about it. Thank you for sharing. Just yesterday I was telling another blogger how much I wish I could travel the world and just write all day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

